The task force was set up by the R Foundation in December 2015 to address the underrepresentation of women and rebranded in January 2017 to accommodate more under-represented groups such as LGBT, minority ethnic groups, and people with disabilities in the R community.

The members of the task force were invited to participate based on their interest in routing for specific under-represented groups and their contributions in the area of diversity and inclusion, to reflect different genders, ethnic groups, work contexts, career stages and aspects of the R project (e.g. CRAN and Bioconductor). The task force is organised as a core team plus a number of sub-teams that focus on particular tasks as outlined below:

  • Community: General outreach to help people from under-represented groups get into R and develop as useRs.

  • Conferences: Focusing on R Foundation conferences, liaising with organizers/program committee on policies and inclusion initiatives.

  • On-ramps: Creating paths for useRs to develop their skills and make contributions to the R/BioConductor package ecosystem.

  • Social Media: Posting to Twitter and/or Facebook, soliciting blog posts and publishing them, maintaining website.

  • Surveys: Running and analysing community surveys, packaging up data and tools and maintaining the Data page.

  • Teaching: Methodology, materials and workshops designed for under-represented groups.

The activities of the taskforce are recorded in the minutes of our bimonthly core team teleconferences and alternate monthly all team slackathons. We are open to new members joining one of our sub-teams. If interested, please contact

The task force is happy to engage with other individuals and organisations (such as R-Ladies) that are concerned about diversity and inclusion and actively seek outside collaboration on specific tasks.

Core Team Members

Heather Turner - Chair. Heather works as a freelance statistical programmer and is on the board of the R Foundation. (LinkedIn/Twitter/ GitHub)

Emily Dodwell - Administrator and ‘Teaching’ team member. Emily works as a data scientist at a startup that translates climate change to financial risk, and she is the lead organizer of R-Ladies New York. (LinkedIn/Twitter/GitHub)

Tania Allard - ‘Community’ team leader. Tania works as a Research Software Engineer and works on data and research software projects across a number of disciplines. She shares her passion for R through classes and R users groups. (LinkedIn/GitHub)

Kevin O’Brien - ‘Community’ team leader. Kevin is a data scientist working for a forestry company, modelling forestry resources, as well as one of the main organizers of Dublin R. (LinkedIn/Twitter/GitHub)

Noa Tamir - ‘Conferences’ team leader (on leave). Noa is a Data Science Manager, an organizer of the R-Ladies Berlin and Women in Machine Learning and Data Science Berlin Meetups, and has recently organized the satRday Berlin 2019 conference. (LinkedIn/Twitter/GitHub)

Jenny Bryan - ‘On-ramps’ team leader. Jenny works as a developer for RStudio and is Assoc Professor (on leave) at the University of British Columbia. She’s member of the R Foundation and rOpenSci. (Twitter/GitHub)

Michael Lawrence - ‘On-ramps’ team leader. Michael is a Computational Biologist at Genentech and a member of R Foundation, R Core and Bioconductor Core. (LinkedIn/Twitter/GitHub)

Lorna Maria Aine - ‘Social Media’ team leader. Lorna is a data scientist supporting data and humanitarian response teams in Central Africa, as well as an active member of Africa R, an initiative to build a network of R user groups across Africa. (LinkedIn/Twitter/GitHub)

Shakirah Nakalungi - ‘Social Media’ team leader. Shakirah is a data analyst working with a non-profit that deals with mental health, specifically depression in Africa. She is co-lead of the Kampala R User Group and the lead organizer of R-Ladies Kampala. (LinkedIn/Twitter/GitHub)

Tatjana Kecojevic - ‘Surveys’ team leader. Tanja is a statistician, instructor and consultant. She is the founder of Sister Analyst, an NGO devoted to empowering women and other under-represented groups, in the field of data literacy and science. Tanja is also the founder and co-organiser of the R-Ladies Manchester and Belgrade chapters. Her enthusiasm for data science is matched by her commitment to inclusivity. Data skills should be accessible to anyone with a desire to discover. (LinkedIn/Twitter/GitHub)

Anna Vasylytsya - ‘Surveys’ team leader. (LinkedIn/GitHub)

Mine Çetinkaya-Rundel - ‘Teaching’ team leader. Mine is a Senior Lecturer at University of Edinburgh, Associate Professor at Duke University, and Data Scientist & Professional Educator at RStudio. She is also a co-organiser for R-Ladies Edinburgh. (LinkedIn/Twitter/GitHub)

Isabella Gollini - ‘Teaching’ team leader (on leave). Isabella is Assistant Professor in Statistics at University College Dublin and an RLadies mentor. (LinkedIn/Twitter/GitHub)

Emma Rand - ‘Teaching’ team leader. Emma is a Senior Lecturer (Associate Professor) at the University of York, UK and teaches reproducible data analysis to bioscientists in her institution and with the Royal Society of Biology and the Biochemical Society. (LinkedIn/Twitter/GitHub)

Jonathan Godfrey - Disability advisor. Jonathan was the first totally blind person in the world to gain employment as a Lecturer in Statistics (Massey University, NZ). (Twitter/GitHub)

Sub Team Members

Damiano Cerasuolo - ‘Community’ team member. (LinkedIn/Twitter/GitHub)

Madlene Hamilton - ‘Community’ team member. LinkedIn/Twitter/GitHub

Joslynn Lee - ‘Community’ team member. (LinkedIn/Twitter/GitHub)

Ileena Mitra - ‘Community’ team member. (LinkedIn/Twitter/GitHub)

Richard Ngamita - ‘Community’ team member. (LinkedIn/Twitter)

s gwynn sturdevant - ‘Community’ team member. (Twitter/GitHub)

Samantha Toet - ‘Community’ team member. (LinkedIn/Twitter/GitHub)

Liz Hare - ‘Conferences’ team member. (LinkedIn/Twitter/GitHub)

Julie Josse - ‘Conferences’ team member. (LinkedIn/Twitter/GitHub)

Florencia Mangini - ‘Conferences’ team member. (Twitter/GitHub)

Imke Mayer - ‘Conferences’ team member. (LinkedIn/Twitter/GitHub)

Miljenka Vuko - ‘Conferences’ team member. (LinkedIn/Twitter/GitHub)

Becca Wilson - ‘Conferences’ team member. (Twitter)

Jyoti Bhogal - ‘On-ramps’ team member. (LinkedIn/Twitter/GitHub)

Michael Chirico - ‘On-ramps’ team member. (Twitter/GitHub)

Maya Gans - ‘On-ramps’ team member. (Twitter/GitHub)

Saranjeet Kaur Bhogal - ‘On-ramps’ team member. (LinkedIn/GitHub)

Wenfeng Qin - ‘Social Media’ team member. (GitHub)

Pavitra Chakravarty - ‘Surveys’ team member. (Twitter/GitHub)

Paola Corrales - ‘Surveys’ team member. (Twitter/GitHub)

Nujcharee Haswell - ‘Surveys’ team member. (LinkedIn/Twitter/GitHub)

Claudia Huaylla - ‘Surveys’ team member. (Twitter/GitHub)

David Meza - ‘Surveys’ team member. (LinkedIn/Twitter/GitHub)

Maria Prokofieva - ‘Surveys’ team member. (GitHub)

Di Cook - ‘Teaching’ team member. (LinkedIn/Twitter/GitHub)

Ritwik Mitra - ‘Teaching’ team member. (LinkedIn/Twitter/GitHub)

Joyce Robbins - ‘Teaching’ team member. (LinkedIn/Twitter/GitHub)

Yizhe Xu - ‘Teaching’ team member. (LinkedIn/GitHub)

Previous Members

Stella Bollman
Nic Crane
Rudolf Debelak
John Fox
Jasmine Dumas
Andrea Foulkes
Gina Griffin
Zhian N. Kamvar
Liz Kellogg
Os Keyes
Angela Li
Gina Merchant
Jesse Mostipak
Augustina Ragwitz
Maëlle Salmon
Dorris Scott
Tracy Shen
David Smith
Carolin Strobl
Charlotte Wickham
Hadley Wickham